Ulster players among All-Star football nominations

By Shaun Casey

ULSTER champions Derry, Monaghan and Armagh all have players in the shortlist for All-Stars after their performances in the 2022 season.

Derry landed the Anglo Celt Cup after 24 long years and reached the last eight of the All-Ireland series, only to see their campaign end in defeat to Galway.

Seven of Derry’s provincial winning team have been shortlisted for All-Star awards, including defenders Chrissy McKaigue, Conor McCluskey and Brendan Rogers.

The midfielder pairing of Conor Glass and Gareth McKinless have also received nominations, as have forwards Shane McGuigan and Ethan Doherty.

Doherty has been included in the shortlist for the Young Player of the Year award and will be up against Dublin’s Lee Gannon and Galway’s Jack Glynn for that accolade.

Derry haven’t recieved an All-Star award since 2007, when Kevin McCloy and Paddy Bradley were named on the best 15 that season. Armagh likewise have had a long wait, with Ronan Clarke their last recipient back in 2008.

The Orchard County have picked up five nominations after their dramatic season that ended in a heart-breaking penalty shootout loss to Galway in the All-Ireland quarter finals.

Midfielder turned goalkeeper Ethan Raffety is among three players nominated for the number one shirt, along with Kerry’s Shane Ryan and Dublin’s Evan Comerford.

Jarly Óg Burns, Stefan Campbell, Rian O’Neill and Rory Grugan are the others from Kieran McGeeney’s squad that have been included in the All-Star nominees list.

Monaghan’s sole nomination is star forward Jack McCarron, who’s heroics helped the Farney men retain their Division One status with a final day win over Dublin. Both Rian O’Neill and Jack McCarron were also shortlisted last season.

All-Ireland champions Kerry have the most nominations with 12 while Connaught champions and All-Ireland runners up Galway, who ended both Derry’s and Armagh’s seasons, have picked up 8 nominations.

Eleven counties in all have been included, with Dublin, Cork, Limerick, Mayo, Clare and Kildare also having players shortlisted.

David Clifford is the early favourite to be named as Player of the Year for the 2022 season and he’s facing opposition from Galway duo Cillian McDaid and Shane Walsh.

Dating back to 1971, the All-Stars are selected by a team of GAA journalists from across print, radio, digital, TV and broadcast media.

A separate Tailteann Cup Team of the Year will also be honoured this year, with Cavan likely to have a heavy involvement having reached the decider.

The PwC All-Stars will be presented at a black-tie banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday, October 28.

The hurling team will be announced live on the night with the football team being released publicly 24 hours earlier.

PwC All-Stars Football Nominations 2022

Goalkeepers: Ethan Rafferty (Armagh), Shane Ryan (Kerry), Evan Comerford (Dublin)

Defenders: Jason Foley (Kerry),Tadhg Morley (Kerry), Brian Ó Beaglaoich (Kerry), Graham O’Sullivan (Kerry), Tom O’Sullivan (Kerry), Gavin White (Kerry), Liam Silke (Galway), Seán Kelly (Galway), John Daly (Galway), Chrissy McKaigue (Derry), Conor McCluskey (Derry), Brendan Rogers (Derry), James McCarthy (Dublin), Lee Gannon (Dublin), Lee Keegan (Mayo), Jarly Óg Burns (Armagh), Seán Powter (Cork), Cian Sheehan (Limerick)

Midfielders: Paul Conroy (Galway), Cillian McDaid (Galway), Conor Glass (Derry), Gareth McKinless (Derry), Brian Fenton (Dublin), Jack Barry (Kerry)

Forwards: David Clifford (Kerry), Seán O’Shea (Kerry),Paudie Clifford (Kerry), Stephen O’Brien (Kerry), Shane Walsh (Galway), Damian Comer (Galway), Robert Finnerty (Galway), Rian O’Neill (Armagh), Stefan Campbell (Armagh), Rory Grugan (Armagh), Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin), Con O’Callaghan (Dublin), Shane McGuigan (Derry), Ethan Doherty (Derry), Ben McCormack (Kildare), Eoin Cleary (Clare), Stephen Sherlock (Cork), Jack McCarron (Monaghan)

PwC GAAGPA Footballer of the Year nominees: David Clifford (Kerry), Cillian McDaid (Galway), Shane Walsh (Galway)

PwC GAAGPA Young Footballer of the Year nominees: Lee Gannon (Dublin), Ethan Doherty (Derry), Jack Glynn (Galway)

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW