14-man Derry take control to book all-Ulster minor final clash

All-Ireland MFC semi-final

Derry 3-11 Dublin 1-8

By Michael McMullan

THREE second half goals from James Sargent, Luke Grant and Cahir Spiers shot Derry to a second All-Ireland minor final in three seasons.

And they had to do it the hard way after playing the second half with 14 men after having goalkeeper Jack McCloy sent off at half time following an incident in the tunnel.

It came after the setback of having to play with key attacker Conall Higgins.

Derry were 0-7 to 0-4 ahead at the break after a half with five goal chances.

Noah Byrne (2) and Luke O’Boyle missed three chances for the Dubs with James Sargent and John Boyle having two shots blocked at the other end.

Derry rode the early Dublin storm but it was game on the opening six minutes of the second half when Shane Mullarkey’s goal levelled matters at 1-5 to 0-8.

Derry found their feet and drove on and were back in front when star man James Sargent slotted home a 42nd minute penalty.

Dillon added points with Johnny McGuckian running at Dublin’s defence at will  to turn the screw.

With 10 minutes to go Luke Grant added a second goal before Cahir Spiers lobbed the ‘keeper to cement the Derry dominance with a cracking third goal.

Derry: Jack McCloy; Fionn McEldowney, Finbar Murray, Luke Grant (1-0); Cahir Spiers (1-0), James Sargent (1-1, 1 pen, 1 45), Odhran Campbell; Cahal McKaigue, Tommy Rogers (0-1); Eamon Young (0-3), Ger Dillon (0-5f), Johnny McGuckian; Rory Small, John Boyle, Oisín Doherty (0-1)
Subs:  Karl Campbell for J Boyle (HT), Deaglán McNamee for O Doherty (59), Kevin KB Mullan for J McGuckian (63)

Yellow cards: J McGuckian (33), F McEldowney (51)
Red card: J McCloy (31)

Dublin: Cillian Murray; Seán Keogh, Cillian Emmett, Jack O’Sullivan; Joshua Young, Eoghan Costello, Ryan Mitchell (0-1); Senan Ryan, Alex Carolan; Patrick Coleman, Luke O’Boyle (0-1 45), Noah Byrne (0-2); Paddy Curry, Harry Curley, Lenny Cahill (0-3f)
Subs: Andrew O’Reilly for P Coleman (30), Shane Mullarkey (1-1, 1f) for S Ryan (66), Ciarán O’Connor for J Young (50), Colin McAweeney for H Curley (53), Ben Kennedy for J O’Sullivan (54)

Yellow cards: R Mitchell (29), S Mullarkey (39), A Carolan (39), S Keogh (46)

Referee: Sean Laverty (Antrim)




Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW