2023 McKenna Cup R3

Derry 0-10 Tyrone 0-10

The latest chapter in this storied rivalry, if any game summed up Derry’s intentions to replace Tyrone as the noisy neighbours, it was this one. In years gone by, the Oak Leaf County would have fallen away as Tyrone gained the upper hand, but not Rory Gallagher’s side. They came from six-points down to salvage a draw, thanks to a late Lachlan Murray screamer, to remain in the hunt for their first McKenna Cup success since 2011.

2022 Ulster SFC quarter-final

Tyrone 0-10 Derry 1-18

DERRY had very little luck against their old foes in recent years but summoned the spirit of 2006 to defeat the then All-Ireland champions on their home turf. It was the first in a series of sparkling victories Derry produced last year, including wins over Monaghan and Donegal, on their way to lifting the Anglo Celt Cup for the first time since 1998. Shane McGuigan’s first-half penalty handed Derry the initiative and they never looked back.

2019 Ulster SFC preliminary round

Tyrone 1-19 Derry 1-13

DERRY were a coming force it seemed in 2019, but even then, Tyrone still held the bragging rights. Shane McGuigan bagged a goal just after the hour mark to put Derry ahead for the first time in the game, but Tyrone finished the stronger of the two, outscoring their opponents 1-5 to 0-1 in the final ten minutes. Darren McCurry was responsible for their major while Cathal McShane, who would receive an All-Star that season, finished with 0-7 to his name.

2019 Dr McKenna Cup semi-final

Tyrone 0-14 Derry 1-8

PETER Harte was the hero as Tyrone swept aside Derry’s challenge once again, although this game was a much closer contest than their round one clash that season. The Errigal Ciaran man was sprung from the bench at the halfway stage, when they sides were level at 0-6 each, and reeled off five points to secure Tyrone’s place in the showpiece. Derry only hit 1-2 after the turnaround, with Patrick Coney claiming his side’s goal.

2019 McKenna Cup Round 1

Derry 0-11 Tyrone 0-20

ON a night when Darragh Canavan made his debut, Tyrone ripped through their rivals with ease to kickstart their 2019 season with a win. Canavan, a second-half placement for Cathal McShane, got on the scoresheet, but it was Darren McCurry and Kyle Coney that really caught the eye. McCurry was top scorer on the night with 0-5 while Coney excelled in his play-maker role and chipped in with a score as well.

2017 Ulster SFC quarter-final

Derry 0-11 Tyrone 0-22

THE Red Hands completed back-to-back Ulster titles in 2017 and did so with a first-round win over Derry. Captain Sean Cavanagh was the main man up front and the dead ball accuracy the Moy man produced helped him finish with 0-7 (six frees) to his name. Tyrone dominated from start to finish and Derry simply couldn’t deal with their pace and skill on the counterattack and the gulf between the sides was reflected on the scoreboard.

2017 McKenna Cup Final

Tyrone 2-13 Derry 1-7

McKENNA Cup kingpins Tyrone eased to a comfortable nine-point win over Derry on their way to earning their sixth title in a row. A goal in each half gave the Red Hands the ascendancy and the game was more or less over at the halfway stage, with Tyrone ahead 1-7 to 0-2. Colm Cavanagh raised the first green flag of the night while Peter Harte converted a second-half penalty. Niall Loughlin netted a late consolation goal for Derry, but it was too little, too late.

2016 Ulster SFC quarter-final

Tyrone 3-14 Derry 0-12

THREEfirst-half goals allowed Tyrone to stroll through to the next round of the Ulster Championship, at the expense of their old foes Derry. Ronan O’Neill bagged a brace of majors inside the first 20 minutes while Peter Harte also netted to give Tyrone a 3-8 to 0-6 half-time lead. The distance was too big to close, and Derry ended the game with 13 players on the field with Ciaran McFaul and Chrissy McKaigue both heading for early showers.

2016 NFL Round Four

Tyrone 2-15 Derry 0-12

TYRONE defeated Derry in Division Two in a season where they gathered an unbeaten run to earn promotion to the topflight. Four points was the difference at the break, with the Red Hands ahead 0-10 to 0-6, but two goals after the turnaround drove Mickey Harte’s men well ahead. Sean Cavanagh hit the first and finished with 1-1 while defender Aidan McCrory put the icing on the cake with a late goal.

2016 McKenna Cup Final

Tyrone 1-22 Derry 1-15 AET

TYRONE may have won, but it certainly wasn’t the walkover victory that they experienced all too often against Derry. Ryan Bell’s first-half goal saw Damian Barton’s side earn a draw during normal time, 0-15 to 1-12, when things began to boil over with Cathal McCarron, Ronan McNamee and Daniel McKinless all receiving their marching orders. Darren McCurry’s extra-time penalty decided the game and Tyrone were crowned McKenna Cup champions.

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW