Derry name minor team for All-Ireland semi-final date with the Dubs

By Michael McMullan

DERRY manager Damian McErlain has named his side for Sunday’s All-Ireland MFC semi-final with Dublin (BOX-IT Athletic Grounds 5.30pm)

The side shows no change from their 1-13 to 0-4 win over reigning champions Galway in the quarter-final.

Both teams are unbeaten in this year’s championship, but Derry needed extra-time and penalties in their dramatic Ulster final win over Monaghan.

Derry are bidding for a sixth All-Ireland title, with their most recent success coming when the 2020 campaign concluded in July 2021 with victory over Kerry.

Dublin have to go back to 2012 for their last – and eleventh – minor All-Ireland when current senior stars Cormac Costello and Niall Scully helped shoot them to victory.

Derry: Jack McCloy; Fionn McEldowney, Finbar Murray, Luke Grant; Cahir Spiers, James Sargent, Cahal Odhran Campbell; McKaigue, Tommy Rogers; Eamon Young, Ger Dillon, Johnny McGuckian; Rory Small, Conall Higgins, Oisín Doherty

Subs: Karl Campbell, John Boyle, Darach McGonigle, Dara McGuckin, Caolan Higgins, Deaglán McNamee, Kevin B Mullan, Lee O’Neill, Gabhan McIvor, Dylan Rocks, Patrick Birt, Rory McGonigle, Charlie Mulholland, Caomhin McNally, Faolan McNicholl, Fintan McIvor, Finbar McShane, Zack Gavigan, Jude Mulholland

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW