Derry name squad for semi-final clash with Monaghan

By Michael McMullan

DERRY manager Rory Gallagher has named an unchanged team for Saturday’s Ulster SFC semi-final clash with Monaghan (5pm) in O’Neill’s Healy Park.

There is a return for Oisin McWilliams who missed the last four games with a fractured bone in his leg.

Skipper Conor Glass and Chrissy McKaigue have been named after being replaced as a precaution in the Oakleafers’ win over Fermanagh in the quarter-final.

Gallagher won’t be able to call on u-20 trio Mark Doherty, Niall O’Donnell and Matthew Downey who featured in Wednesday’s Ulster final defeat to Down.

Saturday’s showdown with the Farney County is a repeat of last year’s semi-final when goals from Gareth McKinless and Benny Heron had Derry in the driving seat by the 22nd minute with Heron adding a third goal in the second half.

The other semi-final this weekend pits Armagh against rivals Down (Clones 4pm) with a spot in the May 14 decider up for grabs.

Derry: Odhran Lynch; Chrissy McKaigue, Eoin McEvoy, Conor McCluskey; Paudi McGrogan, Gareth McKinless, Conor Doherty; Conor Glass, Brendan Rogers; Padraig Cassidy, Paul Cassidy, Ethan Doherty; Niall Toner, Shane McGuigan, Niall Loughlin
Subs: Ryan Scullion, Ben McCarron, Lachlan Murray, Paul McNeill, Declan Cassidy, Shea Downey, Conleth McGuckian, Benny Heron, Ciaran McFaul, Diarmuid Baker, Oisin McWilliams

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW