One change for Derry ahead for first championship meeting with Cork in 30 years

By Michael McMullan

DERRY have made one change for Sunday’s All-Ireland quarter-final with Cork in Croke Park (1.45pm), part of a double header with Dublin and Mayo that is expected to bring 80,000 fans.

There is a return for All-Star defender Chrissy McKaigue with clubmate Padraig Cassidy dropping to the bench.

McKaigue was rested in the Oakleafers’ win over Clare after a knock sustained in the early stages of their win over Donegal.

Speaking to Gaelic Life earlier this week, Meenagh said McKaigue was “all good” and it was all about forward planning.

Meenagh ruled out Oisin McWilliams for the rest of the season after a recurrence of his shin injury in the days after their win over Clare.

Matthew Downey is always out “long-term” with goalkeeper Ryan Scullion also missing out after a dislocated finger in training before their win over Donegal.

Former goalkeeper Thomas Mallon – a goalkeeper coach for three seasons under Rory Gallagher – has been back training with the squad as cover and is listed on the bench.

Mallon’s last appearance was a McKenna Cup defeat against Monaghan in December 2019, Rory Gallagher’s first match as Derry manager.

For Cork, Brian Hurley has been named on the bench with Luke Fahy missing out after an injury sustained in the win over Roscommon.

Kevin O’Donovan, who scored the winner, is handed a start with impact man Chris Óg Jones another player with the potential to add to Cork’s attacking game.

Derry: Odhrán Lynch, Chrissy McKaigue, Eoin McEvoy, Conor McCluskey, Conor Doherty, Gareth McKinless, Paudi McGrogan, Conor Glass, Brendan Rogers, Benny Heron, Paul Cassidy, Ethan Doherty, Ciaran McFaul, Shane McGuigan, Niall Loughlin
Subs: Thomas Mallon, Declan Cassidy, Niall Toner, Shea Downey, Lachlan Murray, Ben McCarron, Paul McNeill, Padraig Cassidy, Conleth McGuckian, Mark Doherty, Diarmuid Baker

Cork: Míchéal Aodh Martin, Maurice Shanley, Rory Maguire, Tommy Walsh, Kevin O’Donovan, Daniel O’Mahony, Matty Taylor, Colm O’Callaghan, Ian Maguire, Brian O’Driscoll, Ruairi Deane, Killian O’Hanlon, Sean Powter, Steven Sherlock, Eoghan McSweeney
Subs: Patrick Doyle, Cian Kiely, Tom Clancy, Darragh Cashman, Paul Walsh, Chris Óg Jones, Conor Corbett, John O’Rourke, Mark Cronin, Brian Hurley, Fionn Herlihy

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW