Cavan and Down name teams for Tailteann Cup clash

CAVAN and Down have named their teams for Saturday’s Tailteann Cup quarter-final at Kingspan Breffni.

Kilcoo forward Ryan Johnston returns to Down’s starting line-up having missed their last game, a deserved victory over Longford, through injury. Another Kilcoo man, Miceal Rooney, has also been recalled to the starting 15, while Patrick Branagan is set to start having come on late as a sub against Longford.

Cavan, meanwhile, have named an unchanged line-up from the team that produced a strong performance against Offaly a fortnight ago to finish top of their group.

The Cavan team is as follows:

Raymond Galligan, Cian Reilly, Padraig Faulkner, Niall Carolane, Ciaran Brady, Oisin Kiernan, Conor Brady, Gearoid McKiernan, Killian Clarke, Cian Madden, Jonathan McCabe, Tiarnan Madden, Brandon Boyle, Paddy Lynch, Oisin Brady.

Subs: Liam Brady, Conor Moynagh, Evan Finnegan, Jason McLoughlin, Dara McVeety, Gerard Smith, Conor Rehill, Ryan O’Neill, Tristan Noack Hofman, Ryan Donohoe, Caoimhan McGovern

The Down team is as follows:

Niall Kane, Patrick McCarthy, Pierce Laverty, Anthony Doherty, Miceal Rooney, Ceilum Doherty, Patrick Branagan, Daniel Guinness, Odhran Murdock, Liam Kerr, Donach McAleenan, Danny Magill, Eugene Branagan, Pat Havern, Ryan Johnston

Subs: John O’Hare, Shane Annet, Shealan Johnston, Rory Mason, Ross Carr, Ryan McEvoy, Gerard Collins, Andrew Gilmore, Conor Fitzpatrick, Conor Francis, Ruairi O’Hare

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW