Laverty names Down squad for Cavan clash

Conor Laverty has named his Down team to take on Cavan, at Pairc Esler, this evening in the third and final round of the McKenna Cup.

The Mourne men were defeated by Mickey Harte’s Derry in the opening round but showed encouraging signs against the Ulster champions.

They have made three changes for Cavan’s visit this evening, with Kilcoo’s Miceal Rooney missing out through injury.

Defender Paddy McCarthy along with Ceilum Doherty is also not included in the starting line-up.

Finn McElroy, Pearse McCabe and Andrew Gilmore, who knocked over a free after being introduced against Derry, all start.

Down: John O’Hare, Peter Fegan, Ryan McEvoy, Finn McElroy, Daniel Guinness, Pearse McCabe, Pierce Laverty, Odhran Murdock, Johnny Flynn, Gareth McKibben, Liam Kerr, James Guinness, Andrew Gilmore, Pat Havern, Oisin Savage. Subs: Kevin Anderson, Anthony Doherty, Niall McParland, Gerard Collins, Pól Quinn, Conor McCrickard, Conor Francis, Jack McCartan, Rory Mason, Ronan Beatty.

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW