GList – Antrim’s successful Camogie teams

Antrim camogs are playing in the Intermediate Camogie final this weekend, and are hoping to become the 11th team to win an All-Ireland title for the county. Seamus McAleenan has compiled a list of every Saffron team that won an All-Ireland title.

2010 All-Ireland Junior Camogie championship final

Antrim (1-9) 2-10 Waterford (1-9) 0-12

AntriM: Mairead Graham, Rhona Torney, Aileen Martin, Aisling Jackson, Coleen Doherty, Emma Connolly, Bronagh Orchin, Kerrie O’Neill, Noelle Connolly, Michaela Convery 0-1, Natalie McGuiness 0-1, Shannon Graham, Racquel McCarry 1-2, Jane Adams 0-4, 0-3 frees, Laura Connolly. Subs: Ashling McCall for A Martin, Charlene Hamill for N Connolly, Katie McAleese 0-1 for L Connolly, Maeve Connolly for B Orchin, Louise McMullan for C Hamill, Sinead Laverty, Eleanor McConville, Bernie McKinley, Muirinn Quinn, Sarah Maguire, Noreen Graham, Chloe Drain, Theresa Adams, Orla McCall, Brenda Clarke.

Antrim (replay): Mairead Graham, Ashling McCall, Aisling Jackson, Mairin Quinn, Coleen Doherty, Emma Connolly, Bronagh Orchin, Kerrie O’Neill 0-1, Rhona Torney 0-1, Michaela Convery 1-1, Natalie McGuiness, Shannon Graham 0-1, Katie McAleese, Jane Adams 0-2 frees, Racquel McCarry 0-4, 0-3 frees. Subs: Charlene Hamill for K McAleese, Laura Connolly 1-0 for A McCall, Bernie McKinley for C Doherty.

2003 All-Ireland Camogie Intermediate Championship final

Antrim 2-09 Tipperary 0-5

Antrim: Christine Doherty, Orla Donnelly, Máiréad Graham, Maureen McAlister, Ciara McGinley, Siobhán McCloskey, Bernadette McKinley, Edel Mason (0-1), Jane Adams (0-3), Noelle McCarry (1-0), Gráinne Connolly (0-2), Anne McKee, Oonagh Elliott, Sinéad Lagan (0-1), Carla Doherty (0-1). Subs: Elaine Dowds (1-1) for Carla Doherty, Fiona Hasson, Helena Connolly, Siobhán Doherty, Danielle Clarke, Ursula Hasson, Róisín Duffin, Cáit Doherty, Ciara McKinley, Brenda Clarke.

2001 All-Ireland Intermediate camogie Championship final

Antrim 3-10 Derry 0-5

Antrim: Christine Doherty, Hannah Healey, Sinéad McMullan, Maureen Duffin, Ciara Gault, Maureen Stewart, Ciara McGinley, Denise Darragh, Gráinne Connolly, Jane Adams (0-6), Anne McKee, Kerri O’Neill, Mairead Graham (1-0), Grace McMullan (2-1), Elaine Dowds (0-1).

Subs: Carla Doherty (0-2) for K. O’Neill, Fiona Hasson, Orla Donnelly, Sandra Wilson, Orlaigh McGrath, Róisín Duffin (inj.).

1997 All-Ireland Junior Camogie Championship final

Antrim 7-11 Cork 2-10

Antrim: Karen Coyles, Brenda McNeill, Mary Connolly, Sinéad McMullan, Maureen Barry, Brónagh O’Neill, Denise O’Boyle (0-2), Claire McGarry, Anne McKee (0-4), Grace McMullan (3-3), Cáitríona Higgins (2-2), Deirdre Heatley (2-0). Subs: Gráinne Connolly for M. Connolly, Oonagh Elliott for C. McGarry, Carla Doherty for D. Heatley, Majella McMullan (inj.), Hannah Healey, Jane Adams, Ursula Cuthbertson, Ciara Nelson.

1979 All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship final

Antrim 2-3 Tipperary 1-3

Antrim: Carol Blaney, Máiréad Donnelly, Mary McMullan, Jo McClements, Jackie McAtamney, Siobhan McAtamney, Máiréad Magill (Capt), Rita Moran, Philomena Gillespie, Máiréad Quinn 0-1, Ann McAllister 1-2, Kathleen McCaughey 1-0. Subs: Sue Dillon, Kathleen Kelly, Eithne McIlroy, Maeve O’Hagan and Ann Marie O’Neill

1967 All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship final

Antrim 3-9 (4-2) Dublin 4-2 (4-2)

Antrim: Teresa Cassidy, Moya Forde, Eithne Dougan, Maeve Gilroy, Kathleen Kelly, Máiréad Carabine (1-0), Sue Cashman (0-1), Máiréad McAtamney (0-5), Marion McFetridge (0-1), Máiréad Quinn (1-0), Eileen Collins (1-0), Lily Scullion (0-2). Subs: Shiela Maguire, Eileen McGrogan, Mary Phil Jameson.

1956 All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship final

Antrim 5-3 Cork 4-2

Antrim: Teresa Kearns, Moya Forde, Ethna Dougan, Winnie Kearns, Deirdre O’Gorman, Eilis McCamphill, Ita O’Reilly, Maeve Gilroy, Marion Kearns, Madge Rainey, Chris Hughes, Grace Connolly.

Subs: Agnes Dillon, Margo Kane, Lil Forrester.

1947 All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship final

Antrim 2-4 Dublin 2-1

Antrim: Kathleen Madden, Cella Quinn, Nancy Mulligan, Kathleen Dooey, Marjorie Griffin, Kathleen Rainey, Mavis Madden (0-4), Mary McGarry, Mary Keenan, Rita McGarry, Sue McKeown (2-0), Bridie O’Neill.

Subs: Ita O’Reilly, Sarah O’Neill, Lily Spence, Elizabeth Smyth.

1946 All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship final

Antrim 4-1 Galway 2-3

Antrim: Mary Anne Donnelly, Cella Quinn, Kathleen Rainey, Kathleen Dooey, Marjorie Griffin, Nancy Mulligan, Patsy Smyth, Ita O’Reilly, Winnie Storey (1-0), Mavis Madden (1-0), Sue McKeown (2-0), Eithne Henry (0-1). Subs: Sarah O’Neill, Peg Dooey, Mary McFall, Bridie O’Neill.

1945 All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship final

Antrim 5-2 Waterford 3-2

Antrim: Patsy Smith, Cella Quinn, Kathleen Rainey, Maire O’Gorman (0-1), Marjorie Griffin, Peg Dooey, Clare McDermott, Winnie Storey, Sue McKeown (1-0), Mavis Madden (0-1), Rosaleen McCamphill (2-0), Bridie O’Neill (2-0). MSubs: Nancy Mulligan, Rita McFerran, Vera McLarnon.


DELIGHT… The Antrim camogs won the All-Ireland Junior title in 2010

MBL 0038793.jpg

JOY… The Saffron camogs were All-Ireland winners in 2003

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW