GLists: Monaghan’s top club winners


Castleblayney – 37 titles

THE sleeping giant of Monaghan football, the Faugh’s have a massive 37 titles but with their last success coming in 2003, we’re not a big kick away from the wait reaching two decades now. What’s also surprising is that they have only been in one final since, a 2007 loss to Clontibret when a certain youngster by the name of Conor McManus hit 1-5 to settle it. Still, it may be a while since their last victory but they hold a huge lead on the rest. With provincial titles in 1986 and 1991, they are one of only two Monaghan clubs to win the Ulster Senior Club title.


Scotstown – 20 titles

SCOTSTOWN’S haul of 20 titles is particularly impressive when you consider that their first win didn’t arrive until 1960 after teams in the Scotstown, Knockatallon and Tydavnet areas joined forces to create the club we are so familiar with now. They had a famous team in the last ‘70s and early ‘80s, winning eight out of nine, while the likes of the Hughes and Rory Beggan have helped power them to six of the last eight titles. They will enter this year’s competition as favourites and they have also won Ulster on four occasions.


Clontibret – 17 titles

CLONTIBRET have that wonderful knack of just being able to add titles here and there, even in years when they aren’t considered among the front-runners. Their association with the competition didn’t start positively as they lost three finals in-a-row between 1917 and 1919, but it was fourth time lucky in 1949. The 1950s were particularly beneficial as they triumphed on six occasions, but apart from a win in ’68, they would have to wait until 1994 to get back on that perch. In the 26 years since, they have won eight finals and have lost five – not a bad return.


Ballybay – 8 titles

Ballybay have long been viewed as having a really outstanding team with the likes of Paul Finlay, the Wylies and the McGuinnesses providing an excellent base, but that team’s haul has only been one title. That came in 2012 and they have lost two finals since to Scotstown. They have been their conquerors in many recent semi-finals too. Ballybay will hope to add a second this season. The club’s best spell came in the 1950s when four titles were annexed in seven seasons when the Duffys, McNallys, Wards and McKearneys were prominent.


Carrickmacross – 7 titles

CARRICK have reached 14 finals and it’s been a 50-50 split between success and failure. However, it’s been over a century now since they have lifted the Senior Championship final following a 1919 win against a Clontibret side who failed to score. They have lost five deciders since then with the most recent coming in 2008 when they fell to Latton. Jemmy Downey was Man of the Match when they defeated Inniskeen to win their first title in 1908. They have been a good senior team since winning the Intermediate Championship in 2017, and will hope to become a real contender again.


Donaghmoyne – 5 titles

FROM 1930 until 1960 Donaghmoyne were a real big hitter in the Oriel county. Three titles arrived to take their haul to five while they also lost six finals. Since then they have only made one final appearance and that came in 1994 when they fell to Clontibret. Two years later they defeated Ballybay in the Intermediate Championship final and the club have been moving between the top two grades ever since. They dropped down to intermediate this year but will be hoping to bounce back quickly.


Inniskeen – 5 titles

THERE is a bit of hype that Oisin McConville’s Inniskeen can end the club’s wait to once again reach the Promised Land. They came close to a first final since 1990 following a thrilling semi-final loss to Ballybay last year and will hope to go at least one step better. You have to go back to 1948 for their last win as, for the second year in-a-row, they defeated Castleblayney in the final. They won an Ulster title in 1888, but long before it became the affiliated competition that we are so familiar with now.


Latton – 4 titles

LATTON won a first title in 1930, when they had a few Ballybay players to call on, but it was the noughties when things exploded for them. Between 2003 and 2011 they won three titles and lost two finals as they developed a reputation as a club that just seemed to love raising their game for championship battle. Their three most recent wins owed a lot to defensive solidity as beaten finalists Magheracloone (2005), Carrickmacross (2008) and Scotstown (2011) only managed a combined 0-29.


Killevan – 3 titles

THE Sarsfields may ply their trade at junior level mostly these days, but they have three titles in their list of honours. Not surprisingly, those came a long time ago with the last coming in 1944 when they defeated Castleblayney. They also defeated ‘Blayney for their first title in 1927, with Killanny bettered two years later. They have only lost one final when Inniskeen got past them in 1938.


Monaghan Harps – 3 titles

MONAGHAN Harps are back in the top tier this year so they will be dreaming of past glories. Their three titles arrived between 1911 and 1923 with the side going back-to-back to claim the latter two. The Harps have lost four finals in the last 40 years, the most recent coming in 2015 when they went on a brilliant run but were outclassed by Scotstown in the decider.

PMO 00233899

27 September 2009; Clontibret celebrate at the end of the game. Monaghan County Senior Football Final, Clontibret v Latton, St. Tighearnach’s Park, Clones, Co. Monaghan. Picture credit: Paul Mohan SPORTSFILE

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW