Translink Ulster GAA Coach of the Year finalists named

Nine outstanding volunteer coaches have been selected as finalists in the Translink Ulster GAA Coach of the Year Awards.

Representing their respective counties, the finalists were selected following public nominations submitted by club members across Ulster.

A panel of experts including All-Ireland winning Armagh manager, Joe Kernan, Ulster GAA PRO Michael Geoghegan and Irish News Sports Columnist Neil Loughran, whittled the entries down to the final nine.

An online public vote is now open to decide who the overall winner will be. As well as the title ‘Coach of the Year’, the person who tops the poll will receive free coach travel for their team and specially commissioned Coach of the Year gear.

The finalists are:

·        Antrim – Padraig Hall, Gort na Mona

·        Armagh – Barry Flynn, Carrickcruppen GAA

·        Cavan – Ray Maguire, Laragh United

·        Derry – Gregory McCormick, St Mary’s GAC Slaughtmanus

·        Donegal – Claire Doherty, Buncrana CLG

·        Down – Sean Gallagher, Newry Shamrocks GAC

·        Fermanagh – Paul McGrath, Belcoo GAA

·        Monaghan – Brendan McNally, Emyvale GAA

·        Tyrone – Eilish O’Neill, Beragh Red Knights GAA

Commenting on the shortlist, Armagh All-Ireland winning manager Joe Kernan remarked:

“The judges were highly impressed with the great work of all of the county finalists. I would encourage all clubs and counties to go online and show their support by voting for the person they feel is most deserving of receiving this award.”

Voting for the Translink Ulster GAA Coach of the Year is now open at .  Voting closes at 11.59pm on Tuesday 27th November. The winner will be announced on Sunday 2nd December.

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW