McFaul winners shots Derry to back-to-back Ulster titles

Ulster SFC final

Derry 1-15 Armagh 0-18 AET
(Derry win 3-1 on penalties)

By Michael McMullan

CIARAN McFaul was the Derry hero with his winning penalty in a dramatic shootout at the end of a pulsating extra-time on Sunday at a packed St Tiernach’s Park.

Goalkeeper Odhrán Lynch saved penalties from Rian O’Neill, Aidan Nugent and Ethan Rafferty before McFaul’s winner.

Brendan Rogers fisted home a ninth minute goal to give Derry a platform in the game and they held the lead until Rian O’Neill’s free forced extra-time, 0-13 to 1-10.

There was still a chance for Rory Grugan to win the game only for his advanced mark to short into the hands of goalkeeper Lynch.

The Oakleafers lost Brendan Rogers to a black card at the end of normal time and after falling behind for the first time to Ross McQuillan’s point, they took the sting out of their eight minutes when down to 14 men.

Armagh looked to have won the game late on in extra-time until star man Shane McGuigan dragged them back into the game with support from skipper Conor Glass.

Lachlan Murray’s fisted point looked to have won the game until O’Neill’s free took the game to penalties and Lynch’s heroics broke Armagh hearts.

Derry: Odhran Lynch, Christopher McKaigue, Eoin McEvoy, Conor McCluskey, Conor Doherty, Gareth McKinless (0-1), Paudi McGrogan, Conor Glass (0-1), Brendan Rogers (1-2), Benny Heron, Paul Cassidy, Ethan Doherty, Niall Toner (0-2f), Shane McGuigan (0-7, 2f), Niall Loughlin (0-1)
Subs: Ciaran McFaul for B Heron (47), Lachlan Murray for N Loughlin (60), Padraig Cassidy for C Doherty (62), B Heron for L Murray (ET), C Doherty for N Loughlin (ET), Lachlan Murray (0-1) for B Heron (83)

Armagh: Ethan Rafferty (0-2), Conor O’Neill (0-1), Aaron McKay, Aidan Forker, Ciaran Mackin (0-1), Greg McCabe (0-1m), Jarly Óg Burns (0-2,1m), James Morgan, Shane McPartlan, Jason Duffy, Barry McCambridge, Rory Grugan (0-2f), Andrew Murnin, Rian O’Neill (0-6, 2f, 1 45), Conor Turbitt
Subs: Stefan Campbell (0-2) for R Grugan (44), Aidan Nugent for S McPartlan (44), Ross McQuillan (0-1) for B McCambridge (58), Oisin Conaty for A Murnin (62), Rory Grugan for J Duffy (70), Callum Cumiskey for A Forker (ET), Connaire Mackin for Ciaran Mackin (76)

Referee: David Gough (Meath)

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW