A third All-Star for Aimee Mackin

ARMAGH’S Aimee Mackin picked up a third All-Star award at last weekend’s award ceremony in Dublin.

It capped off another fine season for the Orchard star.

Niamh McLaughlin, also named as Player of the Year, was selected in the team for the first time.

ALL-Ireland Senior champions Meath led the way with six representatives.

Goalkeeper Monica McGuirk claimed a third TG4 All Star award and she’s one of four Meath players honoured for a second successive year, alongside Emma Troy, Aoibhín Cleary and Emma Duggan.

Team captain Shauna Ennis and Stacey Grimes are the Meath players who are crowned TG4 All Stars for the very first time.

Meath lifted the TG4 All-Ireland Senior title on July 31 for a second successive year, while the Royal County also claimed a maiden Lidl National League Division 1 crown in 2022.

TG4 All-Ireland Senior Final runners-up Kerry have claimed five TG4 All Star awards.

Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh, leading scorer in the TG4 All-Ireland Senior Championship with 4-24, collected her third TG4 All Star award, and first since 2013, while Cáit Lynch bridged a ten-year gap by earning her second award.

Lynch was named at right corner back in 2012 and earned one of the midfield slots on the 2022 selection.

The Kerry players named as TG4 All Stars for the first time are Kayleigh Cronin, Aishling O’Connell and Niamh Carmody.

As well as contesting a first TG4 All-Ireland Senior Final since 2012, Kerry also landed the 2022 Lidl National League Division 2 title, and will play in the top flight of the National League next year.

Mayo, who lost out to Kerry in the TG4 All-Ireland semi-final, have received two All Star awards.

Danielle Caldwell and Shauna Howley are both first-time winners for the green and red.

Meath quartet McGuirk, Troy, Cleary and Duggan are the four survivors from the 2021 TG4 All Star team, as the 2022 selection contains eight first-time winners.

2022 TG4 Ladies Football All-Star team:

  1. Monica McGuirk (Meath)
  2. Shauna Ennis (Meath)
  3. Kayleigh Cronin (Kerry)
  4. Danielle Caldwell (Mayo)
  5. Aishling O’Connell (Kerry)
  6. Emma Troy (Meath)
  7. Aoibhín Cleary (Meath)
  8. Cáit Lynch (Kerry)
  9. Niamh McLaughlin (Donegal)
  10. Niamh Carmody (Kerry)
  11. Emma Duggan (Meath)
  12. Shauna Howley (Mayo)
  13. Aimee Mackin (Armagh)
  14. Stacey Grimes (Meath)
  15. Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh (Kerry)

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW