Castleblayney clock up more miles on their All-Ireland adventure

Compiled by Jackie Cahill

THE race for the 2022 All-Ireland Ladies Club Football Championship titles will be whittled down to six teams over the weekend. All Ireland Junior Club Championship – Semi Finals  – Sunday 1.30pm

Naomh Abán (Cork) v Castleblayney Faughs (Monaghan), Páirc Íosagáin, (New Pitch) 

IN a low-scoring Munster Final, Cork side Naomh Abán did enough against Limerick opponents Oola to secure the silverware.

Defensively strong, Naomh Abán mined seven points at the other end of the pitch to land a two-point victory.

All-Ireland Intermediate winners in 2003, Naomh Abán now have their sights set on another national final.

Their opponents, Castleblayney Faughs, are fresh and firing, however, following an impressive victory against Belgium on their travels to Maastricht.

Monaghan senior ace Jodie McQuillan bagged nine points in that fixture, with Hazel Hughes collecting 1-3.

Naomh Abán v Castleblayney Faughs: L Hughes; U Twohig (capt.), M Dineen, E Creedon; E Kelly, R Corkery, M.E. Kelliher; A McDonagh, G Lucey; A Hoare, E Murphy, C Phelan; A Maher, L McDonagh, G Murphy.

Castleblayney Faughs (v Naomh Abán): R Treanor; M Carr, N Cavanagh, A Leonard (capt.); H Hughes, E Heavin, S McKenna; E Ruddin, O Maguire; G Hanratty, A McCooey, S Moloney; A Connolly, J McQuillan, C Farrell.

Salthill Knocknacarra (Galway) v O’Dwyers (Dublin), The Prairie, Salthill, Galway 

O’DWYERS will be hoping to follow in the footsteps of St Judes and keep the All-Ireland Junior crown in Dublin.

But they’ll get nothing easy on their visit to Galway, where Salthill-Knocknacarra lie in wait at The Prairie.

O’Dwyers enjoyed a 13-point victory over Kilkenny’s Muckalee in the Leinster Final, with Shannon Richardson bagging a brace of goals.

In their Connacht Final victory over Drumcliffe Rosses point, Lauren O’Donnell and Laura Kelly combined for 1-12 and they are two players who will take close watching.

This could be one of the games of the weekend, with the winners going through to a Final on December 11.

 Salthill-Knocknacarra (v O’Dwyers): L Carroll; K Connaughton, E Madden, O de Bairead; S Donnellan, S Divilly, R Reddington; Z Rather, A Finnerty (capt.); A Kelly, L O’Donnell, D O’Connell; A Nash, A Manley, L Kelly.

 O’Dwyers (v Salthill-Knocknacarra): N Kirby; A Kelly, L Marry, H O’Rourke; E Kearney, A Curran (capt.), J Kehoe; E Byrne, K McCabe; I McLean, C Johnston, A Gibbons; A Breathnach, S Richardson, C Munson.

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW