Cavan and Armagh name teams as the NFL begins

RAYMOND Galligan has named the Cavan team for  Saturday’s NFL Division Two opener with Kildare (5pm).

With Newbridge under construction, staring with this weekend, the Lily Whites will play their home games at Netwatch Dr Cullen Park in Carlow.

Galligan has named 13 players who saw action in the McKenna Cup with Dara McVeerty and Ciarán Brady coming in.

Brady – off the back of Arva’s All-Ireland win – and Padraig Faulkner have been named as the joint captains.

Kieran McGeeney has also named his side for Saturday’s visit of Louth to the BOX-IT Athletic Grounds (6pm)

Cavan (v Kildare): Liam Brady, Jason McLoughlin, Oisin Kiernan (Denn), Killian Brady, Padraig Faulkner, Niall Carolan, Oisin Kiernan (Castlerahan), Killian Clarke, Ryan Donohoe, Ciarán Brady, Dara McVeety, Gerard Smith, Patrick Lynch, James Smith,  Oisin Brady
Subs: Gary O’Rourke, Brian O’Connell, Cormac Timoney, Evan Finnegan, Ryan Brady, Cormac McKeogh, Enda Maguire, Tiarnan Madden, Caoimhin O’Reilly, Cormac O’Reilly, Ryan O’Neill

Armagh (v Louth): Blaine Hughes, Paddy Burns, Ciaran Higgins, Peter McGrane, Barry McCambridge, Greg McCabe, Aidan Forker, Ben Crealey, Ciaran Mackin, Conor O’Neill, Rory Grugan, Joe McElroy, Stefan Campbell, Conor Turbitt, Oisin Conaty
Subs: Shea Magill, Connaire Mackin, Jemar Hall, Shane McPartlan, Oisin O’Neill, Tiernan Kelly, Cian McConville, Jarly Og Burns, Niall Grimley, Darragh McMullan, Jason Duffy

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW