Derry name team for trip to Ballybofey

By Michael McMullan

DERRY manager Ciaran Meenagh has named an unchanged line-up for Sunday’s All-Ireland SFC game clash with Ulster rivals Donegal (Ballybofey 4pm).

There is a second start of the season for Ciaran McFaul, with Shane McGuigan set for his 60th senior game for Derry.

Injury has once again ruled out Oisin McWilliams and Matthew Downey from being listed on the bench.

Derry go into the game on the back of a draw against Monaghan at Celtic Park, a game they chased for long periods before four points on the trot nosed them ahead before Karl O’Connell’s equaliser.

Donegal were 0-14 to 0-9 winners over Clare in Ennis thanks to a strong second half performance.

It was just their second win of the season with helps of Ciaran Thompson and Oisin Gallen each hitting four points. Goalkeeper Shaun Patton played an important part with a vital save and his comfort on the ball to push Donegal forward.

Derry’s last game will be a neutral clash with Clare on the weekend of June 17/18.

Derry: Odhrán Lynch; Chrissy McKaigue, Eoin McEvoy, Conor McCluskey; Conor Doherty, Gareth McKinless, Paudi McGrogan; Conor Glass (Capt.), Brendan Rogers; Niall Toner, Paul Cassidy, Ethan Doherty; Ciaran McFaul, Shane McGuigan, Niall Loughlin
Subs: Ryan Scullion, Declan Cassidy, Benny Heron, Shea Downey, Lachlan Murray, Ben McCarron, Paul McNeill, Padraig Cassidy, Conleth McGuckian, Mark Doherty, Diarmuid Baker

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW