Minor action gets underway in Belfast this weekend

By Michael McMullan

SATURDAY sees the resumption of the prestigious Ulster minor football tournament in Belfast.

Hosted by St Paul’s, the tournament didn’t take place for the last two seasons and all nine Ulster county champions will do battle to take the title Lavey won on New Year’s Day 2020.

Fermanagh champions Irvinestown only recently won their county title and they face Four Masters of Donegal on Saturday, with 2016 champions Burren taking on St Brigid’s.

There is also a game on Sunday with 1990 champions Dungiven in action against Ramor United of Cavan.

The competition, which took place for the first time in 1982,  will conclude on the tradition New Year’s Day final slot, with Burren and Dungiven the only clubs to have won the title in the past.

Preliminary Round
Irvinestown v Four Masters – (Saturday, December 10 – Coláiste Feirste – 5pm)

A – Burren v St Brigid’s – (Saturday, December 10 – St Paul’s – 1pm)
B – Dungiven v Ramor United – (Sunday, December 11 – St Paul’s – 1pm)
C – Clan na nGael v Preliminary winners – (Saturday, December 17 – Coláiste Feirste – 1.30pm)
D – Scotstown v Donaghmore – (Saturday, December 17 – Coláiste Feirste – 5pm)

A v B – Sunday, December 18 – St Paul’s – 1pm
C v D – Monday, December 26- St Paul’s – 1pm

Sunday, January 1 – St Paul’s – 1pm

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW