Sargent and Rocks help Derry net seventh All-Ireland title

Electric Ireland All-Ireland MFC final

Derry 2-7 Armagh 0-10

By Michael McMullan

GOALS from captain James Sargent and Cody Rocks made the difference as Derry retained their All-Ireland minor title on Sunday in Omagh.

The sides were level at the break before Armagh pushed two points clear after a controlled third quarter.

Derry did manage to turn the game on its head before Rocks fisted home the clinching goal in the 51st minute after build-up play from older brother Dylan.

The Oakleafers needed goalkeeper Jack McCloy, Turlough McHugh and James Sargent to repel late Armagh attacks in an exciting finish.

It was Derry who started brightest with an early score from Ger Dillon. Armagh’s response with Conall Wilson making a score for Ross Marsden to level matters.

Eamon Young edged Derry ahead before his pass put in Dylan Rocks for a score and Derry were 0-3 to 0-1 ahead after four minutes.

Armagh had two sniffs of goal in their counterattacking game. Fionn Toale’s pass put in Marsden but the ball was cut out an alert Jack McCloy sweeping behind his defence.

Derry were also lucky when Marsden pulled on a ball that landed in the arms of Padraig Haran.

Points from Diarmaid O’Rourke and Fionn Toale kicked Armagh level, 0-3 all, after 20 minutes before Derry struck for goal.

They won a kick-out with Haran and Sargent on the run before Luke Grant was fouled for a penalty and Sargent blasted home for a 1-3 to 0-3 lead.

Armagh wasted no time getting back into the groove and were level by half time (0-6 to 1-3) with points Gavin O’Rourke, Eoin Duffy (free) and Michael Finnegan from a 45.

Marsden had a goal chance blocked early in the second half with Finnegan slotting another 45 with points from Diarmaid O’Rourke and substitute Aaron Garvey putting Armagh into a 0-9 to 1-4 lead after 42 minutes.

Derry found it hard to break Armagh down until Rocks’ fisted goal broke their resolve on the way down the glory trail.

Derry: Jack McCloy; Padraig O’Kane, Ronan Canavan, Padraig Haran; Luke Grant (0-1), Cathal Ó Mianáin, Dara McGuckin; Turlough McHugh, Cathair McBride; Eamon Young (0-2), James Sargent (1-1, 1-0 pen), Caoimhin Hargan; Ger Dillon (0-2, 1f); Cody Rocks (1-0), Dylan Rocks (0-1)
Subs: Rian Collins for Hargan (46), Ruairi Biggs for O’Kane (56)

Armagh: Michael Finnegan (0-2, 45); Tomás Fox, Gavin O’Rourke (0-1), Conall Wilson; Sean Woods, Daithi O’Callaghan, Diarmaid O’Rourke (0-3f); Jack Loughran, Keelan McEntee; Fergus Toale, Ross Marsden (0-1), Fionn Toale (0-1); James McCooe; Eoin Duffy (0-1f), Shea Loughran
Subs: Aaron Garvey (0-1) for Marsden (37), Aodhan McGrane for Fergus Toale (52), Oisin Gribbin for Duffy (55), Caomh Agnew for Fionn Toale (55), Páidí Comiskey for D O’Rourke (60)

Referee: Barry Tiernan (Dublin)

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW