Scott goal clinches victory for Donegal minors

Ulster MFL final – Jim McGuigan Cup 

Donegal 1-9 Derry 0-9 

By Michael McMullan

A STOPPAGE time goal from Eoghan Scott shot Donegal to the Ulster Minor League title at Derry’s expense in Glen on Saturday afternoon.

Donegal trailed 0-9 to 0-4 with 10 minutes to play before three Shane Callaghan frees kept them in touch.

Derry looked like they’d hold on unilt Jack Hegarty’s turnover on goalkeeper Campbell led to Scott slotting home a tricky winning goal.

Derry had struggled to get any real foothold in the middle third over the hour and it was the visitors who sealed the deal with a score from skipper Finbarr Roarty. 

Donegal were 0-5 to 0-2 ahead as half-time approached before Derry hit seven points without reply from John Boyle, Conal Higgins, Oisin Doherty and James Sargent’s 45.

Derry did have a goal chance in the 40th minute when  Darach McGonigle was fouled but he failed to get enough power into his penalty and Padraig McBride saved low in the bottom corner.

After the uncertainty of the county senior team’s relegation and the saga surrounding the academy, it was a welcome boost for Donegal and manager Luke Barrett in his fourth year at the helm. 

Donegal: Padraig McBride; Donal Gallagher, Jordi Gribben, Callum McCrea; Finbarr Roarty (0-1), Darragh Hennigan, Luke Clerkin; Oisin Scanlan, Lorcan McGee; Jack Hegarty, Shane Callaghan (0-5, 4f), John James Sweeney; Dylan Mulholland (0-3, 2f), Conor McCahill, Eoghan Scott (1-0)Subs: Ronan Maher for L Clerkin (41), Gavin Doherty for JJ Sweeney (55), Shane Ellison for D Mulholland (57), Donnacha Boyle for J Hegarty (64)Derry: Karl Campbell; Finbar Murray, Cahal McKaigue, Fionn McEldowney; Kevin B Mullan, James Sargent (0-2, 1 45), Odhran Campbell; Conall Higgins (0-1f), Tommy Rogers; Cahir Spiers, Eamon Young (0-1), Johnny McGuckian; Ger Dillon, John Boyle (0-3, 2f), Darach McGonigleSubs: Oisin Doherty for J McGuckian (blood sub 21, reversed 23), O Doherty (0-2, 1f) for J Boyle (39), Rory Small for KB Mullan (39), Lee O’Neill for D McGonigle (49), Deaglán McNamee for G Dillon (53)Referee: Conor Curran (Down) 

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW