Teams of the 2024 Lidl National Football Leagues revealed

THE Teams of the 2024 Lidl National Football Leagues – selected by the Ladies Gaelic Football Association’s All-Star committee – have been revealed.

Champions Armagh, who won the Division 1 title for the very first time in 2024, lead the way on the top-flight selection, with seven players included.

Runners-up Kerry, who won the competition in 2023, have three players included, Mayo and Meath have two players each on the team, and there’s one player listed on the annual XV from TG4 All-Ireland Senior Champions Dublin.

The seven Armagh players honoured are Grace Ferguson, captain Clodagh McCambridge, Lauren McConville (Player of the Match in the Division 1 Final victory over Kerry), Caroline O’Hanlon, Aoife McCoy, leading scorer Aimee Mackin and Kelly Mallon.

Kerry’s efforts in reaching another final have been recognised with Team of the League Awards for Aishling O’Connell, Anna Galvin and captain Niamh Carmody.

Mayo goalkeeper Laura Brennan and team-mate Lisa Cafferky represent the green and red, while Meath duo Niamh Gallogly and Emma Duggan, as well as Dublin’s Leah Caffrey, are also acknowledged.

O’Connell and Carmody are the sole survivors from the 2023 Lidl NFL Division 1 Team of the League named again this year, while Ferguson, McCambridge, McConville, Mackin and McCoy were named on last year’s Division 2 team, when Armagh won second tier silverware.

In this year’s Division 2 selection, newly-crowned champions Kildare are the big winners, with six players included.

Five players from runners-up Tyrone, who were also promoted, make the cut, along with three from Donegal and one from Tipperary.

Kildare’s six representatives are Aoife Clifford, Lara Gilbert, Ruth Sargent, captain Grace Clifford, Neasa Dooley and Róisín Byrne, Player of the Match from the final victory over Tyrone.

Incidentally, Grace Clifford, Byrne and Dooley were named on the 2023 Division 3 Team of the League, following Kildare’s victory in the competition.

Tyrone’s quintet of players included in the 2024 Division 2 Team of the League are Jayne Lyons, Meabh Corrigan, captain Aoibhinn McHugh, Emma Jane Gervin and Maria Canavan.

Donegal trio Abigail Temple Asokuh, captain Niamh McLaughlin and Susanne White also make the cut, along with Tipperary goalkeeper, Lauren Fitzpatrick.

On the Division 3 Team of the League, Champions Clare have six players named, including captain Caoimhe Harvey, who was also Player of the Match in the final victory over Roscommon.

The Rossies follow closely behind Clare, with five players included on the Division 3 Team of the League, Down have two players included, and there’s one each from Louth and Offaly.

The Division 4 Team of the League is made up of six players from Champions Carlow, including captain Ruth Bermingham and Final Player of the Match, Clíodhna Ní Shé.

There are three players from runners-up Limerick in the selection, three from Leitrim, two from Fermanagh and one from Wicklow.

The winners will receive their awards at Croke Park on Friday May 3.

Teams of the 2024 Lidl National Football Leagues

Division 1:
Laura Brennan    Mayo
Grace Ferguson  Armagh
Clodagh McCambridge    Armagh
Leah Caffrey       Dublin
Niamh Gallogly  Meath
Lauren McConville           Armagh
Aishling O’Connell            Kerry
Anna Galvin         Kerry
Caroline O’Hanlon            Armagh
Niamh Carmody Kerry
Aoife McCoy       Armagh
Emma Duggan    Meath
Aimee Mackin    Armagh
Kelly Mallon        Armagh
Lisa Cafferky       Mayo

Division 2:
Lauren Fitzpatrick             Tipperary
ayne Lyons        Tyrone
Abigail Temple Asokuh    Donegal
Aoife Clifford      Kildare
Lara Gilbert         Kildare
Ruth Sargent       Kildare
Meabh Corrigan Tyrone
Grace Clifford     Kildare
Aoibhinn McHugh             Tyrone
Emma Jane Gervin            Tyrone
Neasa Dooley     Kildare
Niamh McLaughlin           Donegal
Maria Canavan   Tyrone
Róisín Byrne        Kildare
Susanne White      Donegal

Division 3:
Helena Cummins               Roscommon
Ellen Irwin           Roscommon
Síofra Ní Chonaill              Clare
Orla Boyle           Down
Rachel Fitzmaurice           Roscommon
Meghan Doherty              Down
Laurie Ryan         Clare
Amy Gavin Mangan          Offaly
Aisling Reidy       Clare
Laura Fleming     Roscommon
Caoimhe Harvey               Clare
Ailish Considine  Clare
Aisling Hanly       Roscommon
Kate Flood           Louth
Fidelma Marrinan             Clare

Division 4:
Nicole Hanley     Carlow
Charlene Tyrrell Leitrim
Yvonne Lee         Limerick
Sinéad McCullagh             Carlow
Ruth Bermingham            Carlow
Sarah McCarville               Fermanagh
Niamh Forde       Carlow
Róisín Ambrose  Limerick
Róisín Bailey       Carlow
Sinéad McGettigan           Wicklow
Deborah Murphy              Limerick
Ailbhe Clancy      Leitrim
Leah Fox              Leitrim
Eimear Smyth     Fermanagh
Clíodhna Ní Shé  Carlow


Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW