Ulster feature in busy weekend of All-Ireland finals

By Jackie Cahill

THE coming days will also see four Lidl All-Ireland Post Primary Schools champions crowned, with the weekend action getting underway on Friday with the Junior C Final between St Marys Macroom (Cork) and Mayo opponents Ballinrobe CS.

2024 Lidl All-Ireland Post-Primary Schools Finals – all Result on the day

Friday, March 15

Lidl All Ireland Post Primary School Junior ‘C’ Championship Final – St Marys Macroom (Cork) v Ballinrobe Community School (Mayo); University of Limerick North Campus, 2pm
The 2024 Lidl All-Ireland Post-Primary Schools Finals get underway today, with the Junior C decider down for decision between St Marys Macroom (Cork) and Mayo’s Ballinrobe Community School.

Ballinrobe CS will be looking to go one better than Galway’s Dunmore Community School last year and bring the title to Connacht for the first time since St Clare’s Comprehensive, Manorhamilton (Leitrim) were winners in 2018.

But Ballinrobe will face a stern test of their credentials against opponents St Marys, who are aiming to become the first Junior C winners from Cork since Coláiste Choilm, Ballincollig, were victorious in 2010.

St Marys: E Deasy; S Cronin, C Murray, H O’Shea; G Duarte, C O’Brien, R Prendeville; S Mora, K Downey; R Ní Liatháin, É Ní Chonaola, O O’Brien; M Murphy (capt.), L Desmond, C Delaney.

Ballinrobe CS: K Hughes; S Vahey, A Warde, E Shaughnessy; L Tiernan, K Brennan (capt.), R Gallagher; A Hughes, R Burke; M O’Donnell, E Jennings, S Varley; E Keane, E Stagg, U Shaughnessy.

Saturday, March  16

Lidl All Ireland Post Primary School Junior ‘A’ Championship Final
FCJ Secondary School, Bunclody (Wexford) v Loreto College (Cavan); GAA National Games Development Centre, Abbotstown, Dublin, 3.30pm
The GAA’s National Games Development Centre will play host to the 2024 Lidl All-Ireland Post-Primary Schools Junior A Final.

FCJ Secondary School, Bunclody (Wexford) will take on three-in-a-row chasing on Loreto College (Cavan) in what should be an entertaining game.

Loreto have been superb in this competition in recent times and are aiming for a treble success, while FCJ Secondary School are aiming to emulate the feats of Bridgetown in 1999, who were the last Wexford school to achieve competition success.

FCJ Bunclody: A Sky Byrne; R Dwyer, S Kirwan, K Fitzpatrick; K Doyle, E Guinan, E Murphy; M Doyle, H Bolton Lee; M Tobin Cosgrave; L Roban, H Hawless (capt.); A Somers, O O’Rourke, E Roban.

Loreto Cavan: A McDermott; S Walsh, A Crowe, A Crotty; K McSeain, C Crowe, A McDwyer; K Fegan, M Sharkey; B Quaile, M Donohoe, E Gannon; K McGahern, K O’Meara (capt.), M Smith.

Lidl All Ireland Post Primary School Junior ‘B’ Championship Final
Presentation College, Headford (Galway) v St Ronan’s College, Lurgan (Armagh); Mullahoran, Co. Cavan, 2pm
Presentation College, Headford, will aim to become the first Connacht winners of the title since fellow Galway school Coláiste Bhaile Chláir in 2018.

Their opponents are St Ronan’s College, Lurgan (Armagh), last year’s runners-up who are looking to bring the title back to Ulster for the second time in three seasons, following victory for Loreto, Omagh (Tyrone) in 2022.

Presentation College: A Kenny; H Divilly, A Carey, S Devine; C Kerrigan, K Reynolds, E Whelan; E Curran, K O’Connor; L Jacques, A Fahy, A Curry; A O’Malley, R O’Brien, K Farragher (capt.).

St Ronan’s College: L Lennon; E McCavigan, M O’Hara, C French; E Conway, A Delaney, A Lavery; E McCafferty, O Campbell; L.M. McAreavey, A Donohue (capt.), A McDonald; C Henderson, C Magee, L McAlinden.

Monday, March  18

Lidl All Ireland Post Primary School Senior ‘B’ Championship Final
St Attracta’s Community School, Tubbercurry (Sligo) v Ursuline Secondary School, Thurles (Tipperary); St Aidan’s GAA, Ballyforan, Co.Roscommon, 2pm
Monday’s Senior B Final will pit St Attracta’s from Tubbercurry in Sligo against Tipperary opponents Ursuline Secondary School, Thurles.

A win for St Attracta’s would keep the Senior B tile in Connacht following the 2023 victory achieved by Convent of Mercy, Roscommon.

This is the first time that a Sligo team will contest a Senior B Final, while Presentation Thurles (2018), Loreto, Clonmel (2017) and Coláiste Dún Iascaigh, Cahir (2009) are previous finalists from Tipperary.

St Attracta’s: C Gallagher; R Staunton, C King, A Durcan; E Cassidy, J Casey, L Henry; C Walsh, E Giblin; K McCarthy, C Brennan (capt.), B Lavin; G Cooke, A Cooke, L Normanly.

Ursuline Secondary School: A Phelan; S Bell, C Fitzgibbon, S Coughlan; P Quirke (capt.), S Corcoran, I Carr; K Carr, K Ferncombe; L Purcell, C Stakelum, D Ryan; C Fitzpatrick, S Quinlan, O Ryan.

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW