2022 Hurling Manager of the Year Nominees

Category Sponsor

Congratulations to the 2022 Hurling Manager nominees.
Voting opens Thursday 9th February 2023 and will close at 10am on Monday 13th February 2023.

The winner of this category will be announced at our Black Tie Gala Event on Friday 10th March 2023 at the Hillgrove Hotel, Monaghan.

Gary McGettigan, Setanta

Gregory O’Kane, Dunloy

Colin Murphy, Liatroim



Gary McGettigan (Setanta)

Heading into the Ulster final against Shane O’Neill’s, Setanta were perhaps the underdogs but as he had done all season long, McGettigan got the best out of his side. They were impressive winners on the day and claimed a ten-point victory in the end. They were downed at the All-Ireland quarter-final stage, to Kilburn Gaels of London, but Setanta will no doubt look back fondly on their 2022 campaign.


Gregory O’Kane (Dunloy)

Not only did Gregory O’Kane guide his Dunloy side to a first Ulster title in 13-years, beating their old rivals Sleacht Néill in the decider, but he also took them to a fifth ever All-Ireland final, their first appearance on the biggest stage since 2004. O’Kane already held legendary status around the club for his incredible service as a player but has only furthered his reputation as a top hurling coach.

Colin Murphy (Liatroim)

When you consider the fact that Liatroim didn’t even get out of Down the year before Murphy came in, it just goes to show the tremendous job he did with the Down men. They powered to an Ulster title playing a lovely style of hurling and firing up some high scoring tallies along the way and were unfortunate to ultimately lose out to Mayo champions Tooreen in the last four of the All-Ireland series.

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

No tags for this post.

Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW