Seven up for Antrim in McDonagh awards

SEVEN of Antrim’s Joe McDonagh winning side have been named in the Team of the Year.

The Saffrons are represented in every sector of the field with goalkeeper Ryan Elliott joined  by defenders Joe Maskey, Gerard Walsh and Eoghan Campbell, with Keelan Molloy named  in midfield, and Conal Cunning and Ciarán Clarke headlining the attack.

It caps off  a fine weekend for Elliott, Molloy and Cunning who were part of Dunloy’s four-in-a-row winning team in the Antrim SHC.

Beaten finalists Kerry are led by star defender Fionan Mackessy who is honoured for the  third year in a row, and is joined by Eoin Ross, Mikey Boyle and full-forward Pádraig Boyle  who scored 3-64 in six matches.

Down’s Daithí Sands was also listed in the selection.

The awards will be presented at a gala black-tie function in Croke Park this Friday night.

The  show will be streamed live on from 7pm and will also feature the awards for the Ring,  Rackard and Meagher Team of the Year and the Tailteann Cup Team of the Year as well as the presentation of the overall Players of the Year in the three championships.

1. Ryan Elliot (Antrim)
2. Joe Maskey (Antrim)
3. Gerard Walsh (Antrim)
4. Eoin Ross (Kerry)
5. Fionan Mackessy (Kerry)
6. Eoghan Campbell (Antrim)
7. Mikey Boyle (Kerry)
8. Keelan Molloy (Antrim)
9. David Nally (Offaly)
10. Martin Kavanagh (Carlow)
11. Chris Nolan (Carlow)
12. Daithí Sands (Down)
13. Conal Cunning (Antrim)
14. Pádraig Boyle (Kerry)
15. Ciarán Clarke (Antrim)

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW