Ulster players named on Higher Education All-Star team

ULSTER duo Maria O’Neill and Ciara McGarvey have been named on the Yoplait All Stars’ team after the Higher Education season.

O’Neill had a fine season with Antim and was Player of the Final as Ulster University lifted the Giles Cup.

ATU Donegal were winners of the Lynch Cup and Donegal’s McGarvery was named as Player of the Match in the final.

O’Connor Cup winners DCU Dóchas Éireann lead the way eight representatives, including team captain and midfield dynamo Anna Rose Kennedy from Tipperary and Offaly’s Kate Kenny, who was Player of the Match in the Final victory over University of Limerick after contributing a superb individual haul of 1-10.

University of Limerick have been rewarded with five players after reaching an eighth successive final.

The Rising Stars selection recognise the efforts of players in the fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh tier competitions.

Moynihan Cup Winners DKIT and runners-up ATU Sligo share eight positions on the Rising Stars selection.

DKIT are represented by Ciara Gilsenan, Ciara Mulligan, Niamh Rice and her Louth team-mate Lauren Boyle, who was Player of the Match in the Final after netting two goals.

ATU Sligo have been rewarded for their efforts with Yoplait Rising Stars awards for goalkeeper Lily Vickers, Aoife Morrisroe, Roisin Rodgers and Dearbhaile Lynch.

After winning the Donaghy Cup, TUS Midwest have two players named in the half-forward line, namely Final Player of the Match, Chloe Towey, and Iris Kennelly, who was also selected last year.

Yoplait Lagan Cup Final winners University of Galway, meanwhile, have Final Player of the Match Amy Dunleavy and Ellen Donoghue named on the Rising Stars team.

There are also inclusions for Kaioni Tuipulotu from Yoplait Donaghy Cup Finalists University of Limerick, Eimile Loughran, who starred for Yoplait HEC Cup Finalists Ulster University, and DCU Dóchas Éireann’s Molly Carthy, who was Player of the Match in the Yoplait HEC Cup Final win.

The winners will receive their awards on Friday March 31 at The Bonnington Dublin Hotel.

Yoplait HEC All Stars

  1. Robyn Murray – DCU DÉ
  2. Claire Dunne – DCU DÉ
  3. Laoise Lenehan – DCU DÉ
  4. Dara Kiniry – UL
  5. Erika O’Shea – UL
  6. Nicola Ward – UL
  7. Róisín Ennis – DCU DÉ
  8. Anna Rose Kennedy – DCU DÉ
  9. Ciara Needham – UL
  10. Tara Needham – DCU DÉ
  11. Kate Kenny – DCU DÉ
  12. Clodagh Lohan – DCU DÉ
  13. Maria O’Neill – University of Ulster
  14. Síofra O’Shea – UL
  15. Ciara McGarvey – ATU Donegal

Yoplait HEC Rising Stars

  1. Lily Vickers – ATU Sligo
  2. Amy Dunleavy – University of Galway
  3. Aoife Morrisroe – ATU Sligo
  4. Ellen Donoghue – University of Galway
  5. Ciara Gilsenan – DKIT
  6. Roisin Rodgers – ATU Sligo
  7. Kaioni Tuipulotu – University of Limerick
  8. Ciara Mulligan – DKIT
  9. Eimile Loughran – Ulster University
  10. Dearbhaile Lynch – ATU Sligo
  11. Chloe Towey – TUS Midwest
  12. Iris Kennelly – TUS Midwest
  13. Niamh Rice – DKIT
  14. Lauren Boyle – DKIT
  15. Molly Carthy – DCU DÉ

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW