Donegal name team for Monaghan showdown

By Michael McMullan

DONEGAL have named their team for Saturday’s All-Ireland SFC clash with Ulster rivals Monaghan (2pm O’Neills Healy Park).

There is a first start for captain Patrick McBrearty since being replaced at half -time at the same venue when Donegal faced Tyrone in the league earlier in the season.

The Kilcar man had a cameo appearance against Derry in the last round and his return is a huge attacking boost on the the back of Oisin Gallen’s sensational performance.

The injured Jason McGee makes way with Stephen McMenamin’s inclusion ahead of Odhran Doherty the only other personnel change since their 3-14 to 1-15 defeat to Derry.

Paul Brennan, a regular under Declan Bonner, has been listed on the panel for the first time this season after long-term injury.

Clare can’t qualify from the group with Monaghan, Donegal and Derry all still able to finish in top spot ahead of the knock-out stages.

Derry take on Clare in Longford (also at 6pm) and there all three sets of fans will be tuned to radios and social media as the evening unfolds.

Donegal: Shaun Patton, Mark Curran, Brendan McCole, Caolan McColgan, Caolan Ward, Eoghan Ban Gallagher, Stephen McMenamin, Caolan McGonagle, Hugh McFadden, Daire Ó Baoill, Jamie Brennan, Ciaran Thompson, Patrick McBrearty, Oisin Gallen, Conor O Donnell
Subs: Gavin Mulreaney, Brian O Donnell, Odhran Doherty, Jeaic MacCeallbhuí, John Ross Molloy, Luke McGlynn, Johnny McGroddy, Joel Bradley Walsh, Dylan Dorrian, Rory O Donnell, Paul Brennan

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW