Derrygonnelly exit Fermanagh championship at the hands of Enniskillen Gaels

Enniskillen Gaels caused one of the upsets of the Fermanagh championship as they defeated reigning champions Derrygonnelly, winning 1-15 to 2-11

It’s the first time the Erne County kingpins won’t contest the decider since 2014 and they’ve won seven of the last eight titles.

One point was the difference between the sides in the end with Josh Horan’s three-pointer proving the match winner.

Derrygonnelly had led for the majority of the game thanks to an early goal from Shane McGullion.

That gave last years Ulster finalists a foothold in the game, and they carried a two-point lead into the half time break, 1-8 to 0-9.

Enniskillen Gaels got back on level terms through Conor Watson but suffered another sucker punch, with Eamon McHugh flicking home a second goal.

Horan’s major after 40 minutes tied the contest once again while scores from Jack Tierney and John Reihill had the Gaels ahead for the first time since the opening minute.

The Harps hit the final two scores, but it wasn’t enough to get something from the game. Simon Bradley’s men advance to the decider where they’ll face the winners of Kinawley and Erne Gaels.

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW