Red Hugh’s overcome Limavady to claim Ulster crown

Ulster Football Junior Club Championship Final 2018

Limavady (Derry) 1-9

Red Hughs (Donegal) 1-11


From Odhrán Crumley in Celtic Park


Red Hugh’s have claimed the Ulster Junior title with a dramatic win over Derry champions Limavady in a close encounter at Celtic Park.

They become the second Donegal side to claim the crown in as many years with Naomh Colmcille picking up the title at the very same venue, 12 months previously.

Impacts from the bench would prove to be the difference as Jonny Carlin rattled up a personal tally and a vital 1-2 in his fifteen minutes on the pitch.

Cormac Quigley opened the scoring on two minutes with Paedar McGlinchey opened the Tir Chonaill account on five minutes in what proved to be a frantic and full blooded half of football.

Limavady led by the minimum, 0-7 to 0-6 at the break with Damian Browne trading scores with Ruairi O’Kane and Eugene O’Kane.

Much like the first the second half would prove to be nip and tuck with the first score of the half arriving eleven minutes in. Cormac Quigley’s looping shot going for a point dropping into the top right corner of the net.

The Donegal men responded hitting five points without reply as Calvin Bradley the substitute grabbed three quickfire efforts as Limavady lost Richard King to a second yellow.

Damien Browne levelled proceedings from a free going into injury time as Limavady went down to thirteen with substitute Conor Forrest seeing red.

But it was Red Hugh’s who finished strongest, Ryan Kelly shooting them into the lead before Jonny Carlin landed a spectacular solo goal finishing into the top right corner of the net.

Limavady tried in earnest to breathe life into the challenge deploying Callum Brown who will travel to Australia next month to join AFL side GWS but the move proved futile as his efforts were easily dealt with by sheer numbers.


Limavady: Oran Hartin, Jamie McLaughlin, Manus Quigley, Harry McLaughlin, Kieran McGlinchey, Conor Boyd, Aaron McGregor, Sheagh McLaughlin (0-1), Callum Brown, Eugene O’Kane (0-2 1f), Richard King (0-1 1f), Ruairi O’Kane (0-2), Oisin Hasson (0-2), Cormac Quigley (1-1), Ruairi Hasson.

Subs: Brandon O’Brien for Oisin Hasson (51), Conor Forrest for Ruairi O’Kane (51), Jack Deery for Kieran McGlinchey (51), Eoighan Rogers for Ruairi Hassan (58).


Red Hughs: Ciaran Kelly, Cathal Doherty, Eugene Browne, Shane McGlinchey, Paedar McGlinchey (0-1), Stephen McMenamin, Ryan Kelly (0-1), Thomas McMenamin, Damien Browne (0-3 2f), Pauric McMenamin (0-1), Gerard Melaugh, Odhran Doherty, Shane Gallagher, James Carlin, Calvin Bradley (0-3).

Subs: Jonny Carlin (1-2) for Shane Gallagher (42), Colm Melaugh for James Carlin (44).


Referee: Conor Doureen (Cavan)

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW