Derry impressive on the way to title number six

All-Ireland MFC final

Derry 1-13 Monaghan 0-9

By Michael McMullan

A GOAL from James Sargent shot Derry to the county’s sixth All-Ireland minor title with a controlled victory over Monaghan on Sunday afternoon in Armagh in front of 13, 754 fans.

The Oaks had to do it with 14 men after Cahir Spiers’ 43rd minute red card and when Donnachadh Connolly squeezed over a score, Monaghan were three points in arrears, 0-10 to 0-7, with their fans on their feet.

Derry again had an answer when Oisin Doherty made the only goal of the game for James Sargent and there was no way back for Monaghan.

Jamie Mooney made two excellent saves and the first came at the foot of Conall Higgins in the first minute.

Higgins curled a score early with Ger Dillon doubling Derry’s lead before a fine Matthew Finn opener for Monaghan.

Johnny McGuckian had the march on the Monaghan defence in the first half. Cahir Spiers and Eamon Young hit points as Derry settled into the game.

Monaghan pressed up on Derry’s kick-outs, but they got enough possession to feed their running game.

The Farney men finished the half with a Finn free, cutting the margin to 0-8 to 0-6 but they needed another smart Mooney save to deny James Sargent.

The unerring Dillon and a sweet Higgins point had Derry 0-10 to 0-6 ahead before they were reduced to 14 men.

Derry the cemented the win in the 47th minutes. A successful Campbell kick-out for them out and it was Oisin Doherty who surged forward to make the game clinching goal for Sargent.

Monaghan – who hit 10 wides overall – where closed out of the middle channel. Two late throws of the dice saw a high ball cleared off the Derry line by Ger Dillon before goalkeeper Jamie Mooney’s flick came off the post in steppage time but the Oaks had both hands on the cup

Derry: Karl Campbell; Fionn McEldowney, Finbar Murray, Luke Grant; Cahir Spiers (0-1), James Sargent (1-0), Odhran Campbell; Tommy Rogers, Cahal McKaigue; Eamon Young (0-1), Ger Dillon (0-6f), Johnny McGuckian; Rory Small, Conall Higgins (0-3), Oisín Doherty (0-2)
Subs:  Kevin B Mullan for O Doherty (56), John Boyle for C Higgins (58), Dara McGuckin for T Rogers (62),

Monaghan: Jamie Mooney; Donnachadh Connolly (0-1), Cian Greenan, Conor Meehan; Andrew Stuart, Tommy Mallen, Jack Lynch; Matthew Carolan, Seán O’Connell; Conor Jones, Max McGinnity (0-3f), Sean Óg McElwain (0-1); Tomás Quinn, Matthew Finn (0-4, 1f), Luke McKenna
Subs: Caolan Clerkin for J Lynch (17), Canice Murphy for S O’Connell (41), Ethan McCaffrey for T Quinn (Blood sub 43, reversed 44), E McCaffery for A Stuart (50), Max Maguire for C Jones (50), Jamie McCaughey for M McGinnity (63)

Referee: Sean Lonergan (Tipperary)

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW