Derry name side to take on the champions

By Michael McMullan

CIARÁN Meenagh has named unchanged Derry team for Sunday’s Croke Park (4pm) semi-final date with All-Ireland champions Kerrry.

Niall Toner has been retained with Benny Heron again held in reserve on a day when Chrissy McKaigue will make his 130th senior appearance for Derry.

It’s a first game between the sides since 2015, Derry’s last season in Division One, at Celtic Park.

Since thar, many of the players have met in Hogan Cup finals and All-Ireland minor campaigns with Eoin McEvoy and among the three from the 2020 winning minor team against Kerry in the squad this weekend, the others Lachlan Murray and Mark Doherty.

Derry: Odhrán Lynch, Chrissy McKaigue, Eoin McEvoy, Conor McCluskey, Conor Doherty,  Gareth McKinless, Paudi McGrogan, Conor Glass, Brendan Rogers, Niall Toner, Paul Cassidy, Ethan Doherty, Ciaran McFaul, Shane McGuigan, Niall Loughlin
Subs: Thomas Mallon, Declan Cassidy, Benny Heron, Shea Downey, Lachlan Murray, Ben McCarron, Paul McNeill, Padraig Cassidy, Conleth McGuckian, Mark Doherty, Diarmuid Baker



Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW