Fegan shines as Loreto retain All-Ireland title

Lidl All Ireland Post Primary Schools Junior A Final 

Loreto Cavan 10-15 St. Mary’s Midleton 0-7 

By Aisling Clery

PLAYER of the Match Kate Fegan scored 4-6 as Loreto Cavan retained their Lidl PPS All Ireland Junior A title, convincingly defeating St Mary’s Midleton at the GAA National Games Development Centre, Abbotstown.

Loreto Cavan started at electric pace and led by 5-2 to 0-1 after ten minutes. Fegan found the net twice in those opening ten minutes while Katie O’Meara, captain Sarah Clarke and Clodagh Clarke also rattled the net.

It was a lead the Cavan side did not relinquish as their defence proved as defiant as their attacking force and St Mary’s struggled to get a shot on target. Ava McAuliffe proved accurate, collecting 0-4 in total for the Rebel County representatives from frees but Loreto Cavan’s possession, movement and pace proved exceptional.

Lauren Miney found her scoring range on 17 minutes for Loreto Cavan’s sixth goal and they added numerous points to lead by a commanding 6-8 to 0-3 at the break.

On the resumption, St Mary’s raised their game and a fine score from Orlaith Murphy midway through the half was a brilliant effort. However, Loreto Cavan were in scintillating form and further goals from Fegan, Clarke and Katie O’Meara ensured the Junior A trophy heads to Cavan for a second successive season.


Loreto Cavan: K Fegan 4-6, K O’Meara 2-2 (1f), S Clarke 2-1, C Clarke 1-2 (1f), L Miney 1-0, R Boyle Drought 0-2, K McSeain 0-1, K McGahern 0-1.

St Mary’s Midleton: A McAuliffe 0-4 (4f), O Murphy 0-2, A Coughlan 0-1.

Loreto Cavan: O McCabe, D McGovern, C Crowe, A Galligan, A McDwyer, A Kennedy, K McSeain, L Miney, R Gilmartin, C O’Reilly, S Clarke (C), K Fegan, K O’Meara, C Clarke, R Boyle Drought.

Subs: K Cahill for Galligan (42), K McGahern for Boyle Drought (42), E Lawton for O’Reilly (48), E Murtagh for McDwyer (52), N Dempsey for Miney (52).

St Mary’s Midleton: N O’Connor, T O’Neill, K Saunderson, C O’Regan, S O’Rourke, K O’Sullivan, E Brenner (C), A Savage, A Coughlan, C Twomey, A O’Brien, A Walsh, A McAuliffe, O Murphy, A Dunlea.

Subs: A Fogarty for O’Neill (30), C Horgan for Walsh (36), M Cullinane for O’Rourke (39), L O’Regan for Saunderson (50), R Murphy for O’Brien (50).

Referee: Angela Gallagher (Dublin).

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW