MacRory Cup kingpins

Shaun Casey charts the roll of honour list ahead of Sunday’s MacRory Cup final

St Colman’s College, Newry (20 titles)

NO school has won the MacRory Cup more times than St Colman’s College and they’ve also played in the final more than any other school. The Newry based college has lifted the MacRory Cup 20 times, most recently in 2020 when they split the title with St Pat’s, Maghera as the final wasn’t played due to Covid-19. That was their first final appearance since 2017, when they lost out to St Mary’s Grammar School, Magherafelt.

St Patrick’s College, Maghera (16)

MAGHERA have produced some of the best footballers this province as ever seen, with Conor Glass perhaps the most recent name etched down beside the likes of Sean Marty Lockhart and Dermot McNicholl. St Patrick’s shared the title with St Colman’s in 2020 but reached four finals in five years before that between from 2012 to 2016. They didn’t reach the final in 2015 but collected victories in 2013, 2014 and 2016.


SUPERSTAR…Conor Glass captained St Patrick’s, Maghera to the MacRory Cup title in 2016

St Patrick’s Grammar School, Armagh (14)

ST Patrick’s, Armagh were the first school to ever win the MacRory Cup 100 years ago, but have since faded into the dark in terms of reaching the latter stages of the competition. Sean Cavanagh and Ronan Clarke were part of the last Armagh team to win the MacRory Cup and that was way back in 2000. They reached two finals in the ‘90s as well, but that 2000 victory ended a 47-year wait for the crown.

St Patrick’s College, Cavan (12)

THE Cavan college have won the MacRory Cup 12 times in their history, but most of those victories were over 50 years ago. The likes of future Ulster medallist with the Breffni County and 2020 All-Star Thomas Galligan was the main man when St Patrick’s last triumphed in the MacRory Cup when they overcame St Patrick’s Academy, Dungannon in 2015. That ended a 40-year wait for a final appearance and a 43-year wait for the title.

St Macartan’s College, Monaghan (9)

WHILE St Macartan’s College is in fifth place on the roll of honour, it’s been a long time since they’ve got their hands on the MacRory Cup. The Monaghan based college were successful during the early stages of the competition but haven’t actually won the tournament since 1956. They did reach the decider in 2004 and 2007 but lost both to St Patrick’s Academy Dungannon and Omagh CBS respectively.

EXPERIENCE…Dominic Corrigan guided St Michael’s, Enniskillen to five MacRory Cup titles

St Michael’s College, Enniskillen (7)

ST Michael’s, Enniskillen have had some great success in the MacRory Cup having won the competition seven times in their history, while also losing seven deciders as well. The Fermanagh men, led by Dominic Corrigan, captured the 2019 crown with a four-point win over Omagh CBS. They reached the final four years in a row at the turn of the millennium, winning the title in 1999, 2001 (shared with Omagh) and 2002 but losing in 2000.

Abbey CBS, Newry (5)

THE class of 2006 guided Abbey CBS to their first MacRory Cup title since 1987, ending a 19-year wait for college success. Down man Kevin McKernan captained the Abbey side as they saw off St Louis Grammar School, Kilkeel by the minimum of margins, winning 2-4 to 0-9. Despite ending up on the losing side, future All-Star Marty Clarke, who played alongside McKernan when the Mourne men reached the All-Ireland final in 2010, picked up the Player of the Match award for his display that yielded a personal tally of 0-6.

St Patrick’s Academy, Dungannon (5)

SRT Patrick’s Academy had some brilliant success in the MacRory Cup during the noughties when they collected the trophy three times in six seasons. In 2004, they saw off St Macartan’s by two points while one point was enough to steal the crown in 2008 against St Michael’s, Enniskillen. That was the first of their two in a row as they saw off Omagh CBS in 2009 and that’s their most recent success following final defeats in 2011 and 2015.

Omagh CBS (5)

OMAGH CBS are hoping to climb up the roll of honour this weekend and land their sixth title and if they do so it’ll also be the first time in their history that they have retained the MacRory Cup. They overcame Holy Trinity, Cookstown last season, with seven points to spare in the end, to win the competition for the first time since 2007. Sunday’s appearance will be their ninth in the final since 2001.

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW