Orchard semi-final chances go ‘a Beggan’ as Farney prevail in shootout

All-Ireland SFC quarter-final

Monaghan 0-14 Armagh 0-14 AET
(Monaghan win 9-8 on penalties)

RORY Beggan and Conor McManus were the Farney heroes as Monaghan booked their spot in the last four of the All-Ireland race after a gripping penalty shoot-out that went all the way to sudden death.

McManus hit four points, including a pressure free in stoppage time at the end of extra-time to force penalties.

‘Mansy’ nailed two penalty kicks but it was Beggan’s save to deny Callum Cumiskey that decided the game in the end.

It was tough on Armagh, losing their third penalty shoot-out and raises questions over the same five players rotating their kicks after Cumiskey missed twice in the shoot-out.

Over course of the game, the sides were level on 13 occasions with never more than a point separating them in a well-contested and cagey encounter, with Aidan Forker and Conor McCarthy each hitting three fine points from play.

At the end of extra-time, it looked like Rian O’Neill won the game for Armagh but Monaghan got their kick-out off and rolled the dice again.

When Karl O’Connell was fouled, it was Rory Beggan who worked the free short for McManus to engineer another free he clipped over to take the game to penalties.

Monaghan join Kerry in the last four, with the other spots down for decision on Sunday when Derry take on Cork (1.45pm) before the showdown between Dublin and Mayo (4pm) in the second quarter-final double header at Croke Park.

Armagh: E Rafferty; P Burns, A McKay, A Forker (0-3); G McCabe, C O’Neill, J Óg Burns; R O’Neill (0-6, 4f, 1 45), B Crealey; C Mackin, S Campbell, J McElroy; R Grugan (0-2, 1f); A Murnin (0-2, 1m), J Duffy
Subs: C Turbitt for B Crealey (45), C Cumiskey for G McCabe (51), J Hall for J Duffy (54), R McQuillan (0-1) for J Hall (65); S McPartlan for J McElroy (69), B  McCambridge for A Forker (75), J Kieran for P Burns (80), O Conaty for Campbell (90)

Monaghan: R Beggan; K Duffy, K Lavelle, R Wylie; K O’Connell, C Boyle, C McCarthy (0-3); G Mohan (0-3), D Hughes, D Ward; S O’Hanlon, M Bannigan (0-2), R McAnespie; J McCarron (0-2, 1f), K Gallagher
Subs: C McManus (0-4, 3f)for K Gallagher (40), R O’Toole for K Lavelle (53), S Jones for J McCarron (56), S Carey for R McAnespie (61), K Hughes for D Ward (68), C Lennon for C Boyle (80), J McCarron for K O’Connell (85), K O’Connell for S O’Hanlon (89).

Referee: C Lane (Cork).


Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW