Ulster players named on Ring, Rackard, and Meagher Team of the Year

DERRY, Donegal and Monaghan have players selected on the Ring, Rackard, Meagher Champion 15.

Meath, winners of the Christy Ring Cup lead the way with five players on board.

The Derry hurlers’ fine Christy Ring Cup performances have yielded two awards in the shape of defender Riche Mullan and midfielder Cormac O’Doherty.

Nicky Rackard runners-up Donegal are represented by Luke White who takes up the number 1 jersey, and wing back Danny Cullen, after their fine performances in the competition.

Monaghan’s Lory Meagher Cup success is reflected in the shape of Niall Garland and forward Niall Arthur who both claim a spot on this year’s Champion 15 selection. The remaining slot on this stunning team goes to Lancashire forward Conor Madden, who takes up the wing forward position.

Players from the Ring, Rackard, and Meagher were asked to nominate outstanding performers in their competitions, with an independent selection committee adjudicating on the final team based on player performances, supported by video footage and county nominations.

The awards will be presented at a gala black-tie function in Croke Park this Friday night.

The show will be streamed live on from 7pm and will also feature the awards for the Joe McDonagh Cup Team of the Year and the Tailteann Cup Team of the Year – as well as the presentation of the overall Players of the Year in these championships.

Wednesday will see the Joe McDonagh Cup Team of the year announced and the Tailteann Cup team of the year will then be announced on Thursday.

Champion 15 Team of the Year 2023
1 Luke White (Donegal – Nickey Rackard)
2 Seán Geraghty (Meath – Christy Ring)
3 Andrew Kavanagh (Wicklow – Nickey Rackard)
4 Simon Ennis (Meath – Christy Ring)
5 Richie Mullan (Derry – Christy Ring)
6 James Toher (Meath – Christy Ring)
7 Danny Cullen (Donegal – Nickey Rackard)
8 Cormac O’Doherty (Derry – Christy Ring)
9 Niall Garland (Monaghan – Lory Meagher)
10 Conor Madden (Lancashire – Lory Meagher)
11 Jack Regan (Meath – Christy Ring)
12 Éamon Óg Ó Donnchadha (Meath – Christy Ring)
13 Christy Moorehouse (Wicklow – Nickey Rackard)
14 Andy O’Brien (Wicklow – Nickey Rackard)
15 Niall Arthur (Monaghan – Lory Meagher)

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW