Gaoth Dobhair eye title number eight

By Michael McMullan GAOTH Dobhair u-21s have a chance to back up last season’s championship success when they face Glenswilly in Saturday’s decider (O’Donnell Park, 2.30pm). Cathal Mac Giolla Easpaig’s late free was enough to see off Termon, after extra time, as Gaoth Dobhair landed their seventh u-21 title back in January. It’s Glenswilly’s first […]

Glenswilly not getting carried away says Bonner

By Michael McMullan GLENSWILLY are keeping their feet on the ground ahead of the upcoming Donegal Senior Championship insists manager Pauric Bonner. Now in his fourth season at the helm, Bonner – who has Cookstown man Ciaran Sharkey in his management team – is content with the rebuilding phase that saw an influx of youth […]

Michael Murphy’s career at a glance

MICHAEL Murphy retired from inter-county football recently. Here is a glance at his career… Age: 33 Club: Glenswilly HONOURS Club: u-13 B championship: 2000 u-14 B: 2001 u-14 (Division 3): 2001 u-14 (Division 3 North): 2003 Ulster u-14 Féile: 2003 Donegal SFC: 2011, 2013, 2016 Advertisement County Ulster MFC: 2006 Ulster u-21 FC: 2010 (Captain) Dr McKenna Cup: 2018 NFL […]

Murphy retires from inter-county football

THE Donegal football world has been rocked with the news that Michael Murphy has called time on his inter-county career. Murphy captained the county to All-Ireland glory in 2012 and will go down as one of the legends of the game after 15 years service since making his debut in 2007 against Leitrim. It is […]

GLIST: Championship first timers

Shaun Casey takes a look at the last first-time winners across Ulster… Antrim: St Paul’s (1994) ST Paul’s won their first-ever Antrim Senior Championship title in 1994 which sparked a golden period in the club’s history. In four seasons, the St Paul’s team picked up three championship titles starting with 1994 and then finishing off […]

Last four places up for grabs in Donegal SFC

DONEGAL SENIOR FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP QUARTER-FINALS KILCAR V KILLYBEGS Saturday, Tir Conaill Park, 12 noon With the league title already in the bag, 2017 champions Kilcar will bring belief to the championship. Mark Sweeney and Stephen McBrearty kicked 0-4 apiece in their last outing, but Paddy McBrearty will return this weekend. Advertisement Verdict: Kilcar   AODH […]