Magherafelt expecting another tough test in semi-final

By Michael McMullan IT was irrelevant who Magherafelt got in the Derry SFC semi-final draw insists Brian McGuckin, and he expects a “huge battle” with Newbridge on Saturday (Owenbeg, 5.45pm). McGuckin and Damian Barton are in their second year in charge of Magherafelt with Kilcoo’s All-Ireland winning coach Richard Thornton coming on board this season. […]

Derry legend Jim McKeever passes away

DERRY GAA have paid tribute to former captain, manager and chairman Jim McKeever has passed away at the age of 92. He had a distinguished career at club and county level and was captain of the first Derry team to reach an All-Ireland final in 1958, leading to selection as the first ever Texaco Player […]

Derry take unbeaten run to Newbridge

By Michael McMullan THE last time Derry and Kildare crossed paths in the league; it took a controversial late Emmett McGuckin goal to earn Damian Barton’s side a 1-18 to 1-17 win. From that Division Two clash six years ago in Celtic Park, only attackers Benny Heron and Niall Loughlin are on board with the […]

DERRY PREVIEWS: Glen hoping to cross another ‘Bridge

THE championship weekends are nearing a close. The semi-finals of the senior and intermediate football championships are down for decision. Craigbane and Ballerin lock horns in the junior decider, DERRY SENIOR FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP SEMI FINALS GLEN V NEWBRIDGE Saturday, Owenbeg, 6.45pm THE manner of their second half win over Magherafelt laid down a statement that […]

Looking for the next ‘Bridge to cross

By Michael McMullan NEWBRIDGE must “raise their game” if they are going to make a dent in the Derry Senior Championship when the knock-out stages come around, insists manager Niall Conway. The ‘Bridge stifled Sleacht Néill for long periods on Saturday night after falling behind to Shane McGuigan goal after 16 seconds and Conway was […]

The championship Kings of Derry

THE Derry Senior Football Championship kicks into action for another season and Niall Gartland look at the top teams on the roll of honour… Bellaghy – 21 titles EVEN though they haven’t won the Derry Championship since 2005, Bellaghy sit comfortably at the top of the tree with 21 titles to their name. They’ve also […]