Derry book their spot in the last four

All-Ireland SFC quarter-final

Derry 1-12
Cork 1-8

By Michael McMullan

DERRY joined Monaghan and Kerry in the last four of the All-Ireland semi-finals with a degree of comfort at Croke Park on Sunday.

Conor Doherty’s 49th minute goal that proved the key score in the the next play after Rory Maguire’s fisted goal had the deficit back to a single point, 0-9 to 1-5.

Derry pushed into a 0-3 to 0-1 lead with two McGuigan points and a score from Ethan Doherty.

Cork had four first-half wides but two a Steven Sherlock 45 gave them something to build on.

Paul Cassidy (2) and Ethan Doherty added scores as Derry went 0-6 to 0-3 ahead.

A swift move with two kick passes opened the door for a fisted Kevin O’Donovan score to lead Cork in touch at the break, 0-6 to 0-5.

Brendan Rogers made a vital interception to prevent a Cork goal chance in the first attack with Niall Loughlin scoring at the other end.

McFaul added a Derry point before they got a let off when a Cork breakaway from the kick-out ended up with Brian O’Driscoll pulling a half goal chance wide.

Cork got a lifeline when Rory Maguire punched to the net only for Conor Doherty to slot to the net seconds later for a 1-9 to 1-5 lead after 49 minutes.

Brendan Rogers added two points for a Derry team who could afford to see Shane McGuigan’s stoppage time penalty saved.

The final semi-finalist will come from the final quarter-final tie between Dublin and Mayo.

Derry: Odhrán Lynch; Chrissy McKaigue, Eoin McEvoy, Conor McCluskey; Conor Doherty (1-0), Gareth McKinless, Paudi McGrogan; Conor Glass, Brendan Rogers (0-2); Niall Toner, Paul Cassidy (0-2), Ethan Doherty (0-2); Ciaran McFaul (0-1), Shane McGuigan (0-4f), Niall Loughlin (0-1)
Subs: Benny Heron for N Toner (46), Lachlan Murry for N Loughlin (56), Padraig Cassidy for C McFaul (60), Shea Downey for E McEvoy (66), Paul McNeill for E Doherty (73)

Cork: Míchéal Aodh Martin; Maurice Shanley, Rory Maguire (1-0), Tommy Walsh; Kevin O’Donovan (0-1), Daniel O’Mahony, Matty Taylor; Colm O’Callaghan (0-2), Ian Maguire; Brian O’Driscoll, Ruairi Deane (0-1), Killian O’Hanlon; Sean Powter, Steven Sherlock (0-2 45), Conor Corbett
Subs: Eoghan McSweeney (0-1) for K O’Hanlon (INJ 40), Chris Óg Jones (0-1) for S Powter (51), Brian Hurley for S Sherlock (56), John O’Rourke for  B O’Driscoll (59), Paul Walsh for R Deane (67)

Yellow card: M Taylor (71)

Referee: Joe McQuillan (Cavan)



Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW