Monaghan team announced for Donegal clash

By Michael McMullan

MONAGHAN have named their team for Saturday’s All-Ireland SFC game against Donegal (6pm O’Neills Healy Park).

Vinny Corey has opted for the same starting team with experienced trio Conor McManus, Kieran and Darren Hughes again held in reserve.

Dessie Ward and Sean Jones have returned to the squad as Monaghan aim for a victory that could see them top the group.

The Farney management team will have to factor in plans for Donegal duo Patrick McBrearty and Oisin Gallen after the skipper was named for the first time since their league game with Tyrone earlier in the season.

It’s the first championship meeting since 2016 when Donegal ended Monaghan’s reign as Ulster champions in a tight semi-final replay.

Monaghan: Rory Beggan, Ryan O’Toole, Kieran Duffy, Ryan Wylie, Karl O’Connell, Conor Boyle, Conor McCarthy, Karl Gallagher, Killian Lavelle, Stephen O’Hanlon, Micheál Bannigan, Ryan McAnespie, Jack McCarron, Gary Mohan, Shane Carey
Subs: Darren McDonnell, Kieran Hughes, Conor McManus, Sean Jones, Darren Hughes, Dessie Ward, Kevin Loughran, Fabian Beggan, Daragh McElearney, Francie Hughes, Colm Lennon

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW