Derry and Donegal name teams for McKenna Cup final

By Michael McMullan

DERRY and Donegal have named their teams for  Saturday’s McKenna Cup final showdown  in O’Neill’s Healy Park (5pm).

The Oakleafers have given a first start of the season to All-Star defender Conor McCluskey  who comes in ahead of clubmate Dan Higgins with Conor Doherty named at midfield.

The other change sees Niall Loughlin getting the now ahead of Ulster University Sigerson Cup teammate Ben McCarron.

Donegal have opted to go for Gavin Mulreany in goals for his first start and gets a chance to put his hand up for inclusion against Cork in the NFL with Shaun Patton suspended.

Brendan McCole, Kevin McGettigan and Peadar are he other changes from their semi-final win over Monaghan.

Derry are holders of the competition and – like manager Mickey Harte – seek their 13th title.

The game will be streamed like via the TG4 YouTube channel.

Derry: Odhrán Lynch; Diarmuid Baker, Eoin McEvoy, Chrissy McKaigue; Conor McCluskey, Gareth McKinless, Paudi McGrogan; Conor Doherty, Brendan Rogers; Donncha Gilmore, Declan Cassidy, Paul Cassidy; Niall Loughlin, Shane McGuigan, Cormac Murphy

Subs: Ryan Scullion, Marty Bradley, Mark Doherty, Ruairi Forbes, Dan Higgins, Ben McCarron, Conor McGrogan, Patrick McGurk, Cahir McMonagle, Niall O’Donnell, Niall Toner, Jack Cassidy, Shea Downey, Ryan McNicholl, Lachlan Murray

Donegal: Gavin Mulreany; Mark Curran, Brendan McCole, Kevin McGettigan; Ryan McHugh, Caolan McGonagle, Peadar Mogan; Oisin Caulfield, Ciarán Thompson; Odhran Doherty, Shane O’Donnell, Ciarán Moore; Patrick McBrearty, Oisin Gallen, Jamie Brennan
Subs: Shaun Patton, Stephen McMenamin, John Ross Molloy, Jeaic Mac Ceallabhuí, Domhnall Mac Giolla Bhríde, Rory O’Donnell, Ronan Frain, Luke McGlynn, Aaron Doherty, Michael Langan, Daire Ó Baoill


Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW